SWHS - 50thReuion

User Rating:  / 0
Class of 1954, 50th Reuion

President :

William Lind

Vice President:

John Slosser


Carol Luman
Marilyn Fraver & Jack Housley

FHS class of 1954 holds 50th class reunion

Tours, golf challenges, social events and a dinner program event filled this past weekend when members of the class of 1954 gathered to celebrate their 50th reunion. The festivities began on Friday morning when the class of 1954 challenged the class 1953. Friday evening found 70 classmates gathering at the Pow Wow Room at Dunn’s Lanes. The evening was spent getting reacquainted and discussing many fond memories.

Saturday afternoon those interested toured the newly built chapel at Fountain Cemetery, Glass Museum and the city of Fostoria. The American Legion Hall was host to over 100 classmates and spouses with a fellowship hour and photo session. The club was decorated in the class colors of blue and white with red roses-the class flower. Centerpieces using the “50” theme of gold were also used. Memorabilia of days past were displayed as with many photos.

Pat Thornton offered the invocation and remembrance for deceased classmates. Names were read and Carol Hall lit candles in their memory.

Dr. Dorothy and Jessie Tucker were mistress and master of ceremonies for the evening. A trivia games was held. Mark Roberts (nephew of the Tuckers) presented a video of memories of the 50 years of school and reunions of the past. Many door prizes and centerpieces were awarded. Dr. Dorothy Tucker and her brother Jessie surprised the group by supplying champagne for all to toast the class of 1954.

On Sunday morning, 55 classmates and spouses gathered for a brunch at the Café.

Attending from out of town were; - Norma (Miller) Beamer, - Charles Beamer, - Marilyn (Beck) Gensler, - Marilyn (Beers) Polihronopolos, - Lila (Burch) Crawford, - Mary Lee (Holloway) Berry, - Gerald Berry, - Barbara (Boyd) Harris, - Duane Davis, - Lowell Caldwell, - Marilyn (Fraver) Anderson, - Bud Dyer, - David Fillhart, - Betsy (Hillier) Fillhart, - Marilyn (Foster) Willis, - Suzanne (Gair) Goetsch, - Barbara “Bobby Jean” (Geiger) Bowers, - Miriam (Graves) Milon, - Max Groves, - Donna (Haase) Hosman, - Beverly (Hade) Dalton, - Roger Harris, - Sharon (Harris) Young, - Dean Hartman, - Janet (Hicks) Echelberry, - Gary Hollenbaugh, - Larry Hollenbaugh, - Jack Housley, - John Jackman, - Bernard Kinney, - Joyce (Kissling) Lockwood, - Ethel (Kranz) Baruxes, - Linda (Luckey) Krumm, - Ann (McDonel) Noble, - Peggy (Merrell) Thornton, - William Messenger, - Barbara (Phipps) Souder, - R.A. (Ranny) Reinhard, - Marlene (Schell), Wainscott, - Lowell Souder, - Janet (Stearns) Nye, - Alberta (Stone) Dumwald, - Dean Thompson, - Albert (Pat) Thornton, - Kate (Trumpler) Bartling, - Dr. Dorothy Tucker, - Jessie L. Tucker, - Alice (Weber) Budd, - Betty (Wentz) Haley and Jan Wetherill.
Attending from Fostoria were; - Marlene ( Aungst) Shumaker, - Edgar Bradner, - Marilyn (Doe) Molineaux, - Darlene Fruth, - Allison (Welch) Goddard, - Shirley (Koons) Hensley, - Jerry Leeson, - Carol (Luman) Hall, - William Pullom, - Phyllis (Rader) Richard, - Don Richard, - Dr. John Slosser, - Sandra (Swartz) Holman, - Luberta (Treadwell) Moore, - Nancy (Wendt) Malone and Ervin Woodruff.
Members of the reunion committee were; - Phyllis (Rader) Richard, - Allison Goddard, - Dr. John Slosser, - Shirley Hensley, - Marilyn Molineaux, - Jessie Tucker, - Dr. Dorothy Tucker and Carol Hall.

The next class reunion is planned for the third Saturday of July 2009.


Click picture for larger version.


Hosted by Noguska Computer Center Serving Fostoria's computer needs since 1973!